UGC releases list of 22 fake universities


On its official website, University Grants Commission (UGC) has released a list of 22 self-styled, unrecognised institutions that the commission has claimed functioning in contravention of the UGC Act. In a public notice on ‘fake university’ posted on its website, UGC has proclaimed that the Section 13 of the UGC Act strictly prohibits the use of word ‘University’ by any institute other than the ones established by the commission’s norms. Among the institutes which the commission has declared ‘fake’ include Maithili University/Vishwavidyalaya, Darbhanga, Bihar; Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi, UP; Commercial University, Daryaganj, New Delhi; United Nations University, Delhi; Vocational University, Delhi; ADR-Centric Juridical University, New Delhi; St John’s University, Kerala; Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Mathura, among others.