Jammu and Tirupati among six cities to get IITs


The parliament has recently passed a bill on setting up of Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) in six cities across the country, including Jammu and Tirupati. Under the Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Bill 2016, which was approved by the Rajya Sabha in New Delhi through voice vote, the premier technical institutes will also be unveiled in four more regions viz. Palakkad (Kerala), Goa, Dharward (Karnataka) and Bhilai (Chhattisgarh). Lok Sabha had passed the bill earlier seeking to bring the Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, also within the ambit of the proposed Act. In this, HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar remarked that the IITs are the centre of excellence and they will continue to remain like that.